# 11 December 2024 QAC/111224/012

#### UNIVERSITY OF ABERDEEN

## QUALITY ASSURANCE COMMITTEE

# STUDENTS' PROGRESS COMMITTEE: REMIT AND COMPOSITION (all areas of study with the exception of Medicine and Dentistry<sup>1</sup>)

#### Remit

The remit of the Students' Progress Committee is:

- 1. To oversee the progress of individual students and consider representations from:
  - a. undergraduate students whose studies are being considered for termination as a consequence of failing to satisfy the progress requirements as specified in the relevant Degree Regulations; and
  - b. undergraduate students seeking to proceed from one programme year to the next notwithstanding the minimum credit requirements for progression (except for entry to an Honours programme which is a matter for the Head of School [and Members of the Students' Progress Committee]) and to make decisions on such cases on behalf of the Senate.
- 2.To consider applications from students (e.g. for waiver of General or Supplementary Regulations, Regulations for Postgraduate Study or in relation to refusal of readmission) which are incapable of being resolved by executive decision by a Students' Progress Committee (SPC) Convener.
- 3.To consider applications from students to have a period of study (full academic year or a single term) discounted for the purposes of honours degree classification in exceptional circumstances.

#### Guidance

See the policy on Undergraduate Student Progress - <a href="https://www.abdn.ac.uk/staffnet/teaching/student-progress-6117.php">https://www.abdn.ac.uk/staffnet/teaching/student-progress-6117.php</a>

#### **Composition**

A Composite Students' Progress Committee shall be established to consider the cases of students from the areas of study of Arts & Social Sciences, Divinity, Education, Engineering, Law, Music and Science, and postgraduate students in Medicine and Dentistry, and shall be drawn from the membership of the SPC for these six areas of study, together with the Convener of the Students' Progress Committee in Medicine and Dentistry. Normally, the Member for the relevant Area of Study shall convene the SPC when student cases from their area are being heard. The Committee will be quorate provided that the Convener and at least one other member are present.

### **Membership**

The following individuals are the Conveners of the Students' Progress Committee (CSPC) for the 20232024/24-25 Academic Year:

Professor Rona Patey-Colin Lumsden CSPC for Medicine & Dentistry

Dr Dean Robson CSPC for Education
Dr Dean Robson CSPC for Music

Dr Alexey Sevastyanov CSPC for Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Katarina Trimmings Tamas Gyorfi
Dr Marie-Luise Ehrenschwendtner
Dr Thanga Thevar
CSPC for Divinity
CSPC for Engineering
Professor Michelle Pinard
CSPC for Science

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Separate remit & composition document