# SENATE BUSINESS COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Senate Business Committee will be held at **10.00 a.m. on Wednesday 5 September 2018** in **Court Room, University Office**.

Rachael Bernard Acting Academic Registrar (<u>r.bernard@abdn.ac.uk</u>)

# AGENDA

# FOR DISCUSSION

1.	Approval of the minutes of the meeting held on 26 April 2018	SBC18-19:01
2.	Remit and Membership	SBC18-19:02
3.	Composition of Senate 2018	SBC18-19:03
4.	Draft Agenda for the meeting of the Senate on 10 October 2018	SBC18-19:04

#### 5. Review of the Operation of the Senate in 2017/18

The Committee is asked to reflect on the operation of the Senate in 2017/18 and to consider whether there may be any ways to further enhance the effectiveness of the Senate.

#### 6. Major Topics for Discussion in 2018/19

SBC18-19:05

#### FOR INFORMATION

#### 7. Senate Elections

The Committee is invited to note the outcome of the Senate elections conducted at the end of last academic year as detailed below:

The following have been elected to serve on the Senatus Academicus from 01 October 2018 to 30 September 2022 (except where indicated otherwise):

#### **Business School**

Dr A Sim

#### School of Divinity, History & Philosophy

Dr A Cecolin

#### School of Language, Literature, Music & Visual Culture

Dr F Jürgensen Dr SJ Kim

### School of Law

Dr RB Taylor Mr S Styles

## **School of Social Science**

Dr I Xypolia

### School of Biological Sciences

Dr M Barker (until 30 September 2020) Professor P Hallet Dr G Norton Dr S Woodin

### School of Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition

Professor G Brown Professor C de Bari Professor M Delibegovic Professor L Erskine Professor A Lee Professor I McEwan Dr S Miller (until 30 September 2020) Dr F Murray Dr J Pettit Dr J Rochford Dr D Scott (until 30 September 2020) Dr D Skåtun Dr D Watts (until 30 September 2020)

#### School of Engineering

Professor D Pokrajac (until 30 September 2020) Dr Y Tanino Professor M Wiercigroch

#### **School of Geosciences**

Dr C North Dr M Spagnolo

## School of Natural & Computing Sciences

Dr M da Silva Baptista Dr P Henderson Dr R Hepworth

### 8. Dates of meetings in 2018/19

The Committee is invited to note the dates of the meetings to be held in 2018/19:

Wednesday 7 November 2018 at 11.00 a.m. in Committee Room 2 Wednesday 9 January 2019 at 10.00 a.m. in Committee Room 2 Wednesday 20 February 2019 at 10.00 a.m. in Committee Room 2 Wednesday 24 April 2019 at 2.00 p.m. in Committee Room 2

S:\regnew\Academic Services\Senate\Business Committee\2018-19\a - 5 September\Agenda Sept 18.docx